The Song Of 02/27/2017: Leonard Cohen – Traveling Light

You know what? Leonard Cohen is back.

Yes, you heard it right. If you still in doubts, I can repeat it:

Leonard Cohen is back.

On the 23rd of February, music video of his ‘Traveling Light’ song appeared on the internet. Belgian artist Sammy Slabbinck, the master of surreal collages, who designed a cover for Cohen’s last album ‘You Want It Darker’s’, created the video from a singer’s archives. Slabbick created the video together with Leonard’s son Adam.

“I feel a lot stronger, but I’m actually a lot weaker … I wake up in my bed and I feel like, ‘That’s how I used to feel.’ Not exactly but, you know. And then I swing my legs off the bed and I try to stand up!”

A dark humour of a dying man?

No way. He is the light. The traveling light. And he’s still here, with us, released his new video!

And he’s still here, with us, released his new video!

This was the Cohen’s last released song – it saw the world on the 21st of October, 2016, but the lyrics were found in his 2006 records. In November we lost Leonard. But can we say that, after this video? We’ll never lose him. That’s Forever – it does exist.

R.I.P., Leonard.

Leonard Cohen – Traveling Light

I’m traveling light, it’s au revoir
My once so bright, my fallen star
I’m running late, they’ll close the bar
I used to play one mean guitar
I guess I’m just somebody who
Has given up on the me and you
I’m not alone, I’ve met a few
Traveling light, like we used to do

Good night, good night, my fallen star
I guess you’re right, you always are
I know you’re right about the blues
You live some life you’d never choose
I’m just a fool, a dreamer who
Forgot to dream of the me and you
I’m not alone, I’ve met a few
Traveling light, like we used to do

Traveling light, it’s au revoir
My once so bright, my fallen star
I’m running late, they’ll close the bar
I used to play one mean guitar
I guess I’m just somebody who
Has given up on the me and you
I’m not alone, I’ve met a few
Traveling light’ like we used to do

But if the road leads back to you
Must I forget the things I knew
When I was friends with one or two
Traveling light like we used to do
I’m traveling light

One thought on “The Song Of 02/27/2017: Leonard Cohen – Traveling Light

Leave a Reply

