The Song Of 02/21/2017: Sigrid – Don’t Kill My Vibe

I take it as my own anthem. Whatever you tell me…

Oh-oh-oh, ooh, ooh
Don’t kill my vibe

How can 20-years old girl write a powerful song like this? As she said, she had tough moments to recall – ‘I almost killed that Mac keyboard due to angry writing’. I feel that.

Nice piano melody in the beginning, then calm but powerful voice – and here it comes, drums and the voice, loud and strong enough – the voice to be heard. It has a progression – it gets stronger to the end, a bomb – don’t even try to kill it, it could explode.

Norwegian singer Sigrid released this song on the 10th of February 2017. It’s her debut song, which is a potential hit, which is a perfect start, which reveals all signs of a true pop star!

Good luck, Sigrid! You’re amazing!

Sigrid – Don’t Kill My Vibe

You shut me down, you like the control
You speak to me like I’m a child
Try to hold it down, I know the answer
I can’t shake it off and you feel threatened by me

I tried to play it nice but
Oh-oh-oh, ooh, ooh
Don’t kill my vibe
Oh-oh-oh, ooh, ooh
Don’t break my stride

You think you’re so important to me, don’t you?
But I wanted you to know that you don’t belong here
You think you’re so important to me, don’t you?
Don’t kill my vibe

You love to tear me down, you pick me apart
Then build me up like I depend on you
But I throw myself from heights that used to scare me
Guess you’re surprised I’m the puzzle you can’t figure out

I tried to play it nice but
Oh-oh-oh, ooh, ooh
Don’t kill my vibe
Oh-oh-oh, ooh, ooh
Don’t break my stride
(I tried to play it nice but)

You think you’re so important to me, don’t you?
But I wanted you to know that you don’t belong here
You think you’re so important to me, don’t you?
Don’t kill my vibe

Say I’m young, I don’t care, I won’t quit, no, no, no, ho
Say I’m young, I don’t care, I won’t quit, no, no, no, ho
And oh-oh-oh-oh
You’re acting like you hurt me but I’m not even listening
Hey, no-ooh-ooh-ooh
You’re acting like you hurt me but I’m not even listening
Don’t kill
Don’t kill my vibe

You think you’re so important to me, don’t you?
But I wanted you to know that you don’t belong here
You think you’re so important to me, don’t you?

I tried to play it nice but
Oh-oh-oh, ooh, ooh
Don’t kill my vibe
Oh-oh-oh, ooh, ooh
Don’t break my stride
(I tried to play it nice but)

You think you’re so important to me, don’t you?
But I wanted you to know that you don’t belong here
You think you’re so important to me, don’t you?
Don’t kill my vibe

One thought on “The Song Of 02/21/2017: Sigrid – Don’t Kill My Vibe

Leave a Reply

