The Song Of 02/13/2017: ANOHNI – Paradise

After I received my standing desk at work I discovered another way of working. When I stand and put on my new soundproof Bose headphones, I feel like I’m DJing. What could be better than this feeling in an open-space office? Hey, dude, move your body, feel these beats!

I was working like this today [=DJ-ing], while this song started playing.

I’m stuffed inside
My eternity
I’m here, not here
As a point of consciousness

Paradise
World without end
Hopelessness
Sinks into the earth

Wow…

‘Paradise’ is a song of English-born English singer-songwriter who currently lives in the US. The song was released on the 26th of January 2017 and it’s the first song of extended play with the same name.

As Anohni wrote:
“Our new leaders hope to crush our spirits and expedite ecocide in the name of virulent progress, consumerism and false security.
Like Jihadis, many capitalists and Christians compulsively seek to facilitate a righteous “holy war”, or apocalypse ..”

This is about the song and the whole extended play – it’s about eco-destruction.

But… seriously. If you dig deeper, you’ll find something for you here. Like me at work:

I’m stuffed inside
My eternity
I’m here, not here

Office time? I’m here, not here. Always like this.

Strong powerful voice. A cry. But with a strong beat it feels hopeful.

At the edge.

ANOHNI – Paradise

Paradise
World without end
Hopelessness
Sinks into the earth

Crying life
Kaleidoscope
Hopelessness
The shifting beauty

My mother’s love
Her gentle touch
My father’s hand
Rests on my throat

Hopelessness
Myself, I’m here, not here
As a point
Of consciousness
As a point

Paradise
World without end
Hopelessness
Sinks into the earth

My crying life, my crying life
Kaleidoscope (Without escape)
Hopelessness
Sinks into the earth

Staring at myself
I feel giant and trapped
Seemingly
Without escape

I’m stuffed inside
My eternity
I’m here, not here
As a point of consciousness

Paradise
World without end
Hopelessness
Sinks into the earth

My crying life, my crying life
Kaleidoscope, kaleidoscope (Dream against me)
Hopelessness
Hopeless, hopeless, hopeless, hopeless (Dream against me)

Here, myself, here, here

Paradise
World without end
Hopelessness
Myself, I’m here, not here

One thought on “The Song Of 02/13/2017: ANOHNI – Paradise

Leave a Reply

