My Shakespeare

Shakespeare is the most unusual, the most unknown poet and playwright for me. It’s difficult to read even in translation ‘cos he has his own language, his own world around. But all his plays are about immortal things like love, hate, envy. And it makes him immortal. You could feel it all reading his sonnets and plays. You’re there, in the 16th century with Romeo and Juliet, Hamlet, Macbeth, you see all of them, you’re worrying about them, trying to prevent them from mistakes, but you can’t… And the tragedy comes.

My acquaintance with William Shakespeare was at school on the literature lesson. I was on the 6th or 7th grade, when we had to read famous “Romeo And Juliet” as a home task. I suffered. They spoke too much, their cues were sooooo looong and I could hardy catch the sense of each stanza reading it only once. I couldn’t understand it’s written in such a difficult language, when it suppose to be for people. How could it be?

But it would be impossible to be Shakespeare’s plays and sonnets without this language. It’s simple. No epoch, no atmosphere, just a bestseller-style crap 🙂 He was unique, genius, that’s why immortal. It’s simple. But still hard to understand 🙂

I wish I visited The Globe Theatre someday. (God, please, let it be this summer!)

I was lucky to visit some Shakespeare places in August, when I visited England.

I’ve visited the best concert ever! It was at the old chapel, called Exeter College Chapel, on the festival “Early music by candlelight”. Btw, I found it accidentally. I had nothing to do, and found some posters about this event. How could I pass this? Nooo!) Never!)

sm_music_posters   sm_music_poster_tonight

Sorry, woman, I didn’t want to make it uncomfortable. But you are in my blog now.. Congrats!)

sm_chapel    sm_chapel_inside

And I listened Tudor music and Shakespeare’s sonnets… Amazing! Beautiful! I still remember the feeling. With the first note I flew far away from 20th century. I hardly understood the meaning of the sonnets, but I could feel the mood, the epoch, the Eliza’s life, love and pain.

SONNET XXXVI

Let me confess that we two must be twain,
Although our undivided loves are one:
So shall those blots that do with me remain
Without thy help by me be borne alone.
In our two loves there is but one respect,
Though in our lives a separable spite,
Which though it alter not love’s sole effect,
Yet doth it steal sweet hours from love’s delight.
I may not evermore acknowledge thee,
Lest my bewailed guilt should do thee shame,
Nor thou with public kindness honour me,
Unless thou take that honour from thy name:
But do not so; I love thee in such sort
As, thou being mine, mine is thy good report.

And I heard it! Candles, beautiful music. Brilliant!

sm_candylight

Then, reading the sonnets. It helped me to understand this complicated language. More you read, more you understand. I wish I listened them in original pronunciation. And I’ll puzzle it out!

Btw, I saw Shakespeare’s birthplace and his grave in the calm nice town, Stratford-Upon-Avon.

sm_stratford_beautiful1   sm_stratford_shakespeare

No doubts, it’s another Stratford-Upon-Avon now. The theatre where were played the first Shakespeare plays was completely burned out, now there is a theatre on the same place, but it’s a copy. But the houses and the grave are real! I walked and breath the clean air, I enjoyed the time there. And could enjoy now, looking at the photos.

This is outside one of the houses where he his daughter lived. The gardens are beautiful. Nice relaxing place. Breath Shakespeare air! Go through it!

sm_stratford_beautiful

On the way to the Holy Trinity Church…

sm_to_holy_trinity_church

…where the genius man was buried.

sm_shakespeare_grave

1564-1616

Good friend, for Jesus’ sake forebeare
To digg the dust enclosed heare;
 Bleste be the man that spares thes stones, 
And curst be he that moves my bones

And we remember him till now. We read his stories, trying to imagine that time and that customs.

sm_hamlet

To read or not to read? And this is not even a question!

sm_romeo&juliet

Leave a Reply

