Learning English at work DOESN’T work!

When I figured out this I had a deep depression. I’m not kidding. I’ve just realised that my expectations about English courses at work doesn’t match the reality! It was painful… It was taught.. And this is what I’ve got.

image7

1. You need a really good teacher here. 
He or she should be even better than in usual language school ‘cos people used to think about work at work. (Yeah, really! =) It happens!) Sometimes they can’t switch on language class, solving some problems on their heads. Teacher should switch their attention on subject.

2. The teacher should ‘kill’ students who use words in their native language.
This rule again should be stronger than in regular schools. Just image: you came to the English class, but after work your brain is not so clear. It’s difficult to switch on something another. IMHO, teacher should kill students who speaks native language during the class. For the first time it’s OK to kill with a hard look, then only gun can help! Only gun!)))

3. Sometimes it’s easier to discuss personal questions with strangers rather than with colleagues.
You need to practice that’s why you need to talk. But it’s not lots of fun to talk about your biggest fears with a person, code review from whom you are afraid of.)

I can’t remember all the reasons I wanted to tell you =( But I could tell you my experience of learning English at work.

It all started this autumn. I started a course with a native speaker. It was 3 times per week with speaking, grammar, listening and watching video. It was really enjoyable to hear real american pronunciation. But we used the same book as I use on my language school lessons. I had to read it twice. Not much fun =)
BTW, we didn’t have home tasks there ‘cos nobody did it. (And this was before I visited this course.)

So I’d decided to change it on another course. It was a speaking course with home tasks (which a big pros!). This course was about speaking and speaking a lot on different topics with learning special collocations which makes your speech sound more confident and natural. I thought it would be good for me. I had high expectations. But they all was a crap…

The teacher was native, this is nothing bad. But she have such a terrible pronunciation! It’s really important for me to hear how to pronounce right, I usually copy different people. (It’s like a sick, yeah =) ) It was a real disaster! I thought I could pronounce words more natural!

And the lessons were booooooring. She could describe how to do something about a 15 min like at school! starting to speak native! MG! I hear it everyday, I’m not an elementary student. WHY it’s happen? And then other students start to discuss some English rules NOT using English. What’s the point? I can’t get it! I’ll better work!

But it had a positive side. She got us a home task: to find a poem you like and try to read it with intonations. Great! I found a poem. I was searching it half of the evening. I like it so much! I practiced in reading, practiced… but she didn’t check it…

BTW, I don’t know why I didn’t read poetry in English. It’s awesome!

So.. I visited that class only two times. It was more negative than positive. Better not to have it at all! It’s better to pay to language school and have fun lessons with lots of speaking and grammar and teacher who has almost-natural-English-pronunciation that to suffer on free classes at work! That’s my point.

2 thoughts on “Learning English at work DOESN’T work!

  1. Ohmagerd… I teach English conversation class sometimes,,, for office worker. I am no native speaker, and yes I sometimes use the old school way …facepalm.

    I keep thinking how oh how to make students interested, I’m newbie btw. Looking at your honest post I came to think, yes I need to change my teaching style. Super thanks for this post. Good luck for your… uhm. anything 😀 good luck.

Leave a Reply

